Main Dishes

Spicy Oven-Fried Chicken

This is another of the treasured recipes my mother-in-law gave my husband in a little packet of recipe cards when he moved out on his own. More than that, it was one of the first times I remember as a young married couple making something delicious that seemed so very special and difficult when I’d eaten it at the Stein’s house. I was delighted that it was actually quite simple, and still so delicious even from my own oven, one of those recipes which gave me confidence to create good food.

2015-02-03 17.17.54

Spicy Oven-Fried Chicken

1 Broiler-Fryer, cut up

Combine dry ingredients:

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

1/2 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon crushed oregano

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1-1/2 teaspoon salt

1-1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 cup milk

1/3 cup melted butter

Dip chicken in milk, then flour mixture. Place skin side up in shallow baking dish, then drizzle butter over.

Bake at 375 deg. F for 55 minutes.

2015-02-03 19.37.40

*Notes

The easiest way to coat the chicken with the dry ingredients is to put some of the coating in a paper bag and shake one piece at a time in that after dipping it in the milk.

I will say that the cleanup on this one was a bit yucky, as there was lots of grease left in the pan. I guess I have become unaccustomed to this heavy cleanup today, simply because of how I tend to cook now. That said, this is a lovely, delectable dish best eaten right out of the oven. Our chicken, which seemed of average size by today’s standards, was 5-1/2 pounds, so invite guests if your family is small like ours.

2015-02-03 19.36.33

What’s a recipe you’ve made that is always delicious?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Spicy Oven-Fried Chicken

Leave a Reply

